European Eight Ball Pool Championships – Ireland 2019

Malta will be represented with 5 teams in the coming European Eight Ball Pool Championships being held in Killarney, Ireland, between the 9th and 16th February.

The Malta Pool Association will be financing all costs for the 25 qualified players in the Mens A National Team, Mens B National Team, Under 18’s National Team, Under 23’s National Team and the Over 50’s National Team.

Carmel Cilia will once again be managing the Mens Team A composed by Kevin Mercieca, Dylan Cassar, Christ Tabone, Miguel Falzon, Mario Cutajar and ex European Champion Anton Cuschieri.

The Mens B team, managed by Antione Aquilina, includes Phillip Zammit, Malcolm Azzopardi, Duncan Pisani, Warren Falzon, Troy Zammit and Wayne Bonnici.

Malta will be defending the Under 23’s European Title won last year in Malta. The team managed by Jason Agius will include the same players who won the tile last year being Dejan Grech, Ryan Pisani, Ryan Falzon and Scott Muscat.

The Under 18’s team this year includes two new faces Neal Caruana and Liam Mifsud who will be joining Christian Spiteri in the team. Saviour Mifsud will be conducting the team in these championships.

The Over 50’s national team, currently World Title holders, will be lead by team captain Brian Grech. The team also includes current world champions Christ Mills, Marcel Micallef, Manuel Mallia, Alfred Attard and Anthony Mifsud.

Vincent Degiorgio, secretary of the association and treasurer of the European and World Federations, will be in charge of all the Maltese contingent. Sasha Gauci will be officiation games in these championships.

Malta will be hosting the European Championships in Malta in 2020 and the association is preparing to finance and participate with the biggest ever Maltese contingent in the championships.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *